Assessing the (sun) damage. My face hurts.

Today is the first day where its been hot and sunny allll day. The family went on a day trip to Trinidad and Cienfuegos and I stayed here.

Some people moved into the room above me last night and were so loud. Dragging chairs, talking on the patio, open and closing doors. Then I got a bit sick from our dinner – something we had touched the salmon and while it was very mild, eating salmon makes me feel like I’m having my intestines ripped out one at a time- so it was still not fun.

Anyway, got up and went and had breakfast, it was blah as usual. I went on a bit of a walk around to the backside of my building. There is a nice walkway.

Then came back and layered on the SPF 30 as thick as I could and headed down to the pool.

DSC03120.JPG

Happy Cat was down there, sleeping on a chair with a nice lady. I like people watching and I had noticed this woman and her boyfriend quite a bit around the resort. They’re both really good looking and seemed like fun people. Then I realized at the buffet this morning that they were signing to each other. I just found them so interesting to watch! Anyway, I started telling this British woman all about Happy Cat and our adventures. Her and I talked for ages and she told me the building beside ours had been struck by lightening the day before we got there and that was part of the reason we had no power in our building when we got here. She said that there was a fire that started in that building but the strike had knocked out the power and in turn the fire alarm. Luckily it wasn’t too bad and no one got hurt. It rained so hard that the pools flooded and they looked like big mud puddles. Glad we missed it!

She was telling me how her and her husband have traveled lots. They’ve been to Cuba quite a few times and all over Europe. Said their son is a special forces police officer back in the UK. I should have asked if he was single! They were great to talk to and then she came over a bit later and gave me another book. They disappeared later so I guess I get to keep it!

After a while I made myself go in the freezing cold water (I’d much rather been in the ocean but I figured I’d go after lunch). I tippi toed to the swim-up bar and had a beer with some people from Ontario. As I sat there I could feel my back getting warm so I decided to go for lunch – I only had that one beer and a Pina Colada earlier but I figured I really needed more water and a break form the sun for a bit. My poor fish belly white skin can only take so much.

I came back up to my room to re-slather the sunscreen, I find it much easier to do when I can see in a mirror and headed back down. Some new people had moved into the chairs beside me and I think they are the noisy ones who moved in above me last night ’cause today is the first day I’ve seen them and I saw them come down the stairs behind me. I thought they were foreign at first and then I realized they’re just from very northern England and that’s why I couldn’t understand a thing they were saying (so still foreign but less so than someone who doesn’t speak English).

It was so hot by this time – it was great but I could feel my face burning. I made myself a little head canopy with my swimsuit cover-up. I kept making sure I topped up my sunscreen it but I find my face still gets reddish and hurts a bit. My cheeks are pink now but it usually goes down, it always does later in the day so I don’t think it’s sunburnt it’s just that this sensitive – pale little white girl from Canada doesn’t really tan – just turns different shades of pink, red, and white.
I found that when the rest of my crew (especially my well tipping uncle) isn’t with me, the staff at the pool bar here tend to ignore me. I tip them too but when it’s only me, they don’t get as much. So I walked over there and got a strawberry daiquiri. I was trying to tough it out and stay out by the pool, so I thought this would be a good way to cool down with out freezing my tail off in the pool and then having to reapply the sunscreen all over. It was a very strong daiquiri and was a bit instant drunk – the heat never helps that (remember that Las Vegas post from a couple years ago?)
So I packed up and thought I’d try out the beach for a bit. Down there you’re facing away from the sun and they have those cute little palm umbrellas, I know there is an actual name for them but I can’t remember what it is. I lasted about 10 seconds out there – the wind was blowing so hard, it was not enjoyable.  Probably a good idea, I still have one full day here and the last thing I need is sunstroke.

So here I am on the patio of my room. It’s only 2:30 but I had a shower and got all the icky sunscreen scrubbed off.

I don’t have anything to do now until 7:15. I booked in at the French restaurant by myself because I don’t know what time everyone will be back. Maybe I’ll go nap.

~
So it’s just about 6 and I’m in the lobby bar killing time before dinner. I felt lame just sitting in my room watch TV. I went out briefly and got some chips. I started feeling really gross in my room but I think I was just hungry! I didn’t really want to go to that one restaurant that’s always open – I just wanted a snack. Anyway, I did get slightly sunburnt – thankfully it’s fairly minor as far as sunburns go. Just across the bottom part of my chest, so when I was tanning my back, it’s where my sunscreen would have rubbed off on my towel. Though I was being so careful to!. And I have one little red patch on my back. It could be so much worse so I won’t complain. And now as I sit here – I’m watching what appears to be quite the wicked storm rolling in. I better drink this Pina colada and search for cover.

DSC03121.JPG

~

Ok last update for the day!
The family was back much earlier than we all expected so they joined me in the lobby for a bit. They said their trip was great and the pictures are really cool. So if you’re thinking of Cuba and a trip other than Havana, this could be a great option. Like everything here, there is a lot of history down in that area.
I went off to my reservation at the French restaurant. It is lovely inside. Great decore and a live pianist, who was wonderful! I ordered the grilled lobster, thinking if it was half as good as the stuff in the buffet I’d be in good hands. It wasn’t. It was gross actually. It was mostly raw and came with a small scoop of vegetables. No one really came over to see how my food was so I picked at it and ate what I could and left. I met the family over at the lobby and we all went to the buffet. The lobster guy was there, so I loaded up my plate and ate as much of the salty, buttery goodness as I could. I was much happier 🙂


After dinner, you guessed it, more courtyard sitting. It started to rain so we moved our table and chairs under the covered walkway area. We all got a bit buzzed which was nice. Our waitress there the past few nights is fantastic. Her name is Mary and she’s super funny (calling my not so old uncle Papa because he ordered coffee and we all had drinks), really pretty and is really good at her job. Just an overall great personality and someone we enjoyed interacting with.

Anyway, bed time. Tomorrow is our last full day!

