So my last post was all about fun in the summer – hopefully you booked your The Yacht Week experience! But seeing is winter is just around the corner, I thought we’d focus on something a little more seasonal.

Whistler. Oh Whistler. It’s like a tiny fairy village full of twinkling lights and fluffy snow and and stunning mountains.

Your adventure begins as you travel the stunning Sea to Sky highway from Vancouver. The views are just ridiculous the entire way… I’m glad I wasn’t driving so I could just stare out the window and enjoy the beautiful scenery.

Depending on how fast you drive and whether you pull over to stretch those legs, breath in the beautiful mountain air and take a few snaps – it’s about a 2 hour drive from Vancouver to Whistler.

I stayed at the Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside and I can’t recommend it enough.

481328_10151785329130571_709982009_n

It’s a stunning hotel located right at the base of Whistler Mountain. I was a bit early for check-in so my room wasn’t ready yet. But the kind ladies at the front desk gave me a free upgrade to a ‘suite’ meaning I could check-in right then and there! How nice is that?! My suite wasn’t exactly what I was expecting … I was thinking sweeping mountain views and a great big luxurious room. Well I got the mountain view…

I’ve never been in a hotel where the bed pulled out of the wall before! haha … It was a really lovely room in actual fact, it was just smaller than I expected. I would have hated to see what my original room looked like! The Murphy bed was quite cozy and I spent quite a bit of time cuddle up in front of the gas fireplace.

The outdoor pool was wonderful as well…it was just warm enough where you could still enjoy it. I also loved their eucalyptus infused steam room. I want one in my house! There are a few upgrades the hotel could make, I’m sure that can be said about almost every hotel but the pros far outweighed the cons.

One pro? Having a pub in the hotel. It’s called Dubh Linn Gate Irish Pub and it’s great! The food is good, they have a great selection of boozy drinks and live music. Plus it’s only a short stumble back up to your room. I ate a couple times here and enjoyed it. On my last night I spent hours sitting at the bar talking to some businessmen and the handsome bartender with an Irish accent. There was just a little bit of a wobble in my step when I finally left.

There is lots to see and do in Whistler year round. I was actually told you’ll probably find more to do in the summer than in the winter. I seriously couldn’t begin to name them all so I’ll just show you a few of the things I did. I need another trip to fit more of the activities in for sure. I wasn’t there long enough! For a list of all the activities you should definitely check out their official website here. I found the site enormously helpful while planning my trip.

There are no cars allowed right in Whistler Village so you can walk from one end .. where my hotel was.. clear right on to the other. I did this many times, definitely got my exercise in. I popped to all the different hotels just to see what they’re like, all the fun shops. Some sell the usual tac, others you can find unique treasures and of course the high end goodies!

A ‘must do’ is the Peak to Peak Gondola. It’s great even if you’re not a skier, you can head up the mountains, check out the views and have something to eat. I’m not a huge fan of heights. I don’t mind them but I do tend to get that fluttery heart, sweating palms thing going. So I was quite proud of myself for not having an absolute panic attack. I had my moments.. but I survived. Luckily once you start going up and you’re mesmerized by the view, you kinda forget your scared.

I was pretty excited to see the bear. Also glad I was too far away for him to get me.

And then… you get to the top.  I had lunch in the chalet and check out the neat little Olympic display before heading across on the Peak to Peak over to Blackcomb Mountain. It was a little less foggy over that way, could see right down to the village and even the bob sled/luge track from the Olympics.

Soon it was time to come back down. I enjoyed my trip but also wanted to get back to earth 😉 and put some dry socks on. I saw another bear – or maybe it was the same fella… either way. Those bikers sure hit the breaks when they came around the corner. And then I ran into a more friendly mama and baby bear in town. Cute eh?


I also visited the very quaint and very unique Whistler museum. I learned all about the area, how it was founded, the wildlife that call the area home. Tons of cool things to see and do. It is quite small and I was the only one in there. It was a real treat. Definitely worth checking out.

The favourite thing I did in Whistler.. I sadly didn’t take pictures of. I went to the Scandinave Spa . Just thinking about it now makes me want to cry. I want to go back to bad! It’s an amazing, amazing experience.
The hotel drove me up to the spa which is nestled in the side of a mountain. Of course. I was dropped off in a parking lot and then literally walked through the woods on a little path until the spa appeared before me. It was magical.
It’s peaceful from the moment you arrive. I was checked and taken downstairs for my massage. You know how most places play soothing music in the background while you’re having your treatment? Yah – they had a window open and I listened to the gentle sounds of real live birds, the breeze rustling the leaves and a babbling brook. Heaven.
After a blissful hour – it was time to head to the Scandinavian Baths… *gently weeps* … it’s a hot/cold/warm experience said to be incredibly good for your health. You first relax in a nice warm tub, then jump into a cold pool and then find youself back into a warming station. The website I gave above explains the experiences so much better than what I just said haha. And its not just hot tubs and cold tubs, there are different stations to try. My favourite was the dry sauna. I could have stayed in there all day long. I started to go a little stir crazy though. You can’t talk in the baths. Like at all. Me not talk? I think that was harder than trying to psych myself into jumping into the cold water! I only briefly saw one other woman while I was there so at least I wasn’t really tempted to talk to anyone. It was just me and the birds and the beautiful view of the trees and mountain fog that sat on top of us. It seriously was heaven… the whole entire day. I cannot wait to head back to Scandinave … I so wish it was closer!

I fear I have rambled on far too long now. I will add, if you’re a foodie, Whistler also has some truly amazing and award winning restaurants. I’m not going to mention and by name as I didn’t take any photos from any of them. But every meal I ate was exceptional and the service was also great. Except for the really, really creepy waiter at the steakhouse.

I highly recommend a trip to Whistler even if it’s just for the day. Winter or summer. Just go. Lots to do, lots to see. Things are a little expensive but hey that’s all a part of travelling.

 

580094_10151785454680571_776552440_n

Bye Whistler!

 

