Yup – that pretty much sums up the current forecast for Las Vegas. I can honestly say this will be the hottest weather we’ve had for our trip. Granted I’ve never gone the first week of July. I recall being in London this time last year .. I was in line at Westminster Abbey and the woman in front of me was from LV. She was telling me about the heat wave happening back home and how they were doing rolling blackouts and rationing water ect. I thought about how awful that sounded … and now here we are again!!

The thing that gets me, is there is actually a warning on the forecast that says ‘very hot’.

 

This is just from one of the weather sites. Other sites have the forecast as hot as 45 degrees.

This is just from one of the weather sites. Other sites have the forecast as hot as 45 degrees.

 

And as I’m looking at the forecast – this story pops up on my twitter feed, it takes you to the article.

Las Vegas running out of water

It’s something interesting to think about. I’m sure by the time all of this starts happening, they will have found a solution. I’m glad to see that many of the hotels and resorts are doing things to help conserve water. Two years ago when we went, we actually drove to Hoover Dam. You can tell by the photos even then, how much lower the later levels were.

 

 

So what are your ways to beat the heat on a holiday like this? We’ll go to the pool in the mornings so that it’s not too hot to sit outside. My poor shoes are going to melt to the side walk. Heck  I’M going to melt to the side walk!

