Hiya!

My name is Ashley and welcome to my travel blog! I am by no means an expert and there are plenty of people that are more well travelled than I am but I wanted a way to pass along my tips that I’ve picked up over the years as a solo traveller and to share my adventures. I don’t travel as much as I want to… that thing called a job gets in the way but it also pays for those travels! I’ll update as much as I can about any trips I go on as well as any fun, useful things I come across. I am really good at planning itineraries so if anyone needs any help planning a trip, please let me know and I’ll be happy to assist.

I got bitten by the travel bug 13 years ago when I went on a school trip to Italy. We started in the north and travelled down south, 9 days later we were headed home. It was a whirlwind experience full of history and beauty. I wish I had been a little bit older as I think I would have appreciated it more but I suppose that it is just an excuse to one day go back.

The way that trip went I’m surprised I ever wanted to travel again. When we arrived at the Charles de Gaulle Aiport in Paris we learned the air traffic controllers in Italy had gone on strike so we wouldn’t be going anywhere. We were each given a voucher worth 9 francs to buy something to eat. I can tell you 9 francs got you a muffin and a small can of Coke. That Coke then exploded on my pants and I spent the next half hour under a hand dryer in the bathroom. I saw the very top of the Eiffel Tower and that was about it. I wasn’t really enjoying my first time in France. When we finally, finally got to Italy… my luggage did not. I was a 12 year old girl in sticky pants of the verge of tears. I was convinced I was never going anywhere again. Thank goodness my grandparents were chaperones on the tour, I wouldn’t have made it through without them. My luggage did arrive a day later. Our trip started in Venice – where I got pooped on by a pigeon, to Florence, Assisi, Sienna, Rome – where we were fortunate enough to see Pope John Paul II give mass in Saint Peter’s Square and then on to Naples and Pompeii. We did and saw all you could possibly hope for, a really, truly wonderful experience. And in the end, despite the crazy things that happened, I thankfully didn’t give up on travelling.

I’m going to leave it there for now. Over the course of the next few posts I’ll talk more about the other trips I’ve been on and about my upcoming trip to England.

